Home > Microsoft Project > Microsoft Project Tutorial part 28B – some explanations to the files

Microsoft Project Tutorial part 28B – some explanations to the files

One aspect of the agile community which I love (or is it all software developers, or people, I don’t know) is the eagerness to share and help out. As I explained in a previous post, I have no file archive so you needed to e-mail me to get my sample Project files. But Jochem Bökkers volunteered to help me out. So, now you can download the files from here.

Well, the files are nothing special. In the file Project1, I just added the settings described in Tutorial Part 22. I’ve also created a number of sample files, showing how Project can be used through out the project.

Get back to be if you have questions and input!

Resource Planning

In this file, I have used the Resource Usage View. In the diagram (right side) I’ve changed the time scale to visualize weeks and changed so that also Baseline work is displayed. This means that I can compare my original plan (baseline work) with current plan (Work). In the left table, I’ve added the fields % Work Complete, Baseline Work, Actual Work and Work (planned). This is a view which can be used to see how resources are used and how we planned there were going to be used on a weekly basis.

clip_image002

 

Time Reporting

In this file, I’ve used the Resource Usage view, changed the time scale to view weeks and changed the right side so it shows actual work. This means that time reporting can be done directly in the graph. On the left side I can also adjust Work (the planned work) and compare plan (work) with original plan (baseline work) and actual work.

clip_image004

Follow Up

In this file I’ve used the Gantt chart but changed the diagram so it shows weeks (you can guess this is my favorite). I’ve made a split to the view so I can select and edit specific sprints. To the table, I’ve added some fields so I can track progress. In the example, I’ve also visualised a cut sprint and an added sprint. Sprint B was cut short and Sprint D was added. I can see the added sprint by it lacking Baseline values.

clip_image006

Comparison

In this simple example, I’ve just added two versions of a project and I’ve used the Gantt chart but have some added columns (Cost & Work) which is useful to the customer.

clip_image008

Project1

This is a simple template which uses my common settings for a new project. Note that I often change views (as can be seen in the other files) so you will have to customize your views after your needs.

clip_image010

Categories: Microsoft Project
  1. Mourad HMIMIDA
    2010/03/24 at 2:59 pm

    Thanks for this just i want to rise that the link is broken

    • Anna Forss
      2010/04/17 at 3:01 pm

      just contact me if you have problems getting the files

  2. 2011/07/05 at 5:58 pm

    Hi Anna: The link appears to be broken (it just displays a web page at http://www.thesecondbest.com).

    Could you please send the sample files to: roaks@itsdataservices.com

    If you can possibly send them today, I would greatly appreciate it as I was just about to start working on the project plan (a Scrum project) when I saw your wonderful posts.

    Thanks so much!

    Regards,
    Rob Oaks

    • NH
      2012/09/18 at 7:36 pm

      Hi Anna
      The link is broken.
      Could you please send me a copy of the file at nhiras at hotmail dot com please?

  3. Helen
    2011/07/25 at 4:01 am

    Thanks for the tutorial, unfortunately the link to file download is broken, is there any chance you can email it to me ?

  4. John
    2011/09/08 at 4:56 am

    Hi Anna, Many thanks for the tutorial, they are really helpful. As is has been mentioned, the link seems to be broken, could you please email me the file at jelbacha@royalwolf.com.au.
    Thanks in advance,

    John

  5. 2012/03/16 at 10:08 am

    Hi Anna,
    I Would appreciate if you send mpp file to my address shussain@iba.edu.pk

    Thanks
    Sharaf Hussain

  6. Greg
    2012/09/13 at 10:47 pm

    Can you please send me the sample file? Thanks for all your great work, time and effort.

    Greg

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment